Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Recit de Voyages
20 janvier 2010

Récit de voyage de Lorie du côte de Melbourne

Hi everybody! Second edition!

Before everything else: Happy New year!
I’m still in Australia and time is racing past! I left Maroochydore one month ago and I’m now in Pont Lonsdale, 1 hour from Melbourne, on the coast. It’s a very small village, smaller than Maroochydore but cosy and pleasant. The weather is very different than on the Sunshine Coast. One day it’s 38 degrees and the day after only 15degrees! So weird! I bought Ugg Boots because I was too cold! There really are 4 seasons in one day!
I’m in the family I met in France (Phipps family) looking after the 3 cheeky children (Jay who is in his terrible two’s, Nina 6, Laurie 9 years old) and an antisocial guinea pig (confusing between the two Lorie’s, I inherited the nickname of “Big Lorie”). They are very welcoming, friendly and kind with me. They set me up a caravan in the garden so that I have my own messy space as well! During the day we play a lot: bouncing at the trampoline, playing hopscotch, doing skipping rope, treasure hunt, going to the beach, swimming in the rock pools, cooking some crêpes (yami yami). They lent me a board and a wetsuit and I can go surfing when I have a break. I started running again but this is definitely not my favorite sport, however it’s good to let off the steam!
I had Christmas with the family. It was very good and I was very spoilt as well! It’s very funny because in Australia and may be in New Zealand too, they celebrate Christmas on December 25th but In Europe, we’ve got the main meal on December 24th for dinner! I would never, NEVER NEVER imagine in all my life eating at Macdonald for Christmas Eve!
Don’t worry for me. I’m eating healthy food here! Mango, avocado, fresh fish, good meat, wraps and Marc’s mum deserts are everyday on the table. We often have a BBQ, I love it and it’s blissful! I’m not really scared when I see a weighing scales ;-).
For the New Year I was in Torquay, with Rip Curl family. Great people, huge houses with such beautiful views on the ocean, delicious food and many bottles of Champagne! Alright, I admit that I was fully on the piss! Naughty girl! I struggled the day after (in the spa!).Big headache! It was a nice party, dancing, meeting people, watching fireworks! For the surfers, I went for a swim and scuba diving at Bells beach, famous waves, but on this day, the ocean was as flat as a pancake. Damn it!
I have moved a few times from Pont Lonsdale during my days off. I went to Melbourne for a week end and I enjoyed it a lot! It’s such a great town, music everywhere, a good atmosphere, lots of entertainments, gigs and so many cheap sushi restaurants. I went to Portsea, on the other side of the bay, a tiny paradise, awesome. I’m looking forward to going back to Torquay and Bells beach and planning a trip along the Great Ocean Road). And I’ve also visited the bumpy, dusty roads of the inland bush to visit a friend in a farm close to Ararat. I realized how big Australia is? Huge, dry, isolated and kangaroos crossing the road everywhere, (as dangerous as dears or wild boards in France! That sucks, too easy to hit one. Bullshit!)
As I told my parents, I reckon that I’m living in a TV program: Barbie! Barbie at the farm (rubbing bulls, driving trucks, cutting hay and feeding horses) Barbie at the beach (with my tiny yellow spot bikini, fishing small spotty fish and shrimps), Barbie working in a surf club (mixing chocolate sauce with barbecue sauce (I let you imagine the customers’ faces when they tasted their food) tricky girl!!), Barbie looking after children ((changing nappies: yuki!) (everybody telling me that I have beautiful children and that they look like me, but there are not my kids!), Barbie at a toga party with some mates dressing as a Roman and dancing to techno music and singing like a dead cat (I won’t give up my day job for singing!). It’s been so much fun! I’m taking it easy and just enjoying life! For the onlookers, have a look at my pictures on Facebook, Australia 2 album and you’ll have a glimpse of Victoria!
My English is improving very slowly. I speak French a lot but it is definitely much better than at the beginning. I’m coping enough to travel alone! I have to be patient:” hold your horses Lorie” as one of my friends told to me! I’ve been trying to read a children book every day and note down the new vocabulary. Even though the books are for 5 year old children I’m still learning from them! It’s a good exercise and a quick read just the way I like it. Christine teaches me the different pronunciations between “shit” and “sheet” or “whip” and “wipe” which don’t mean the same thing at all and I always confuse them! Such a shame! In some contexts, it can be very embarrassing.
I don’t have a clue at the moment what I am doing after Pont Lonsdale (where’s Barbie going next?). I have heaps of great options, so I’m happy and keen to move anywhere! I’m so scattered, I would like to go everywhere! I’ll let you know when I’ve organized my timetable and where I’m going to roam!
I hope everything is alright for you.
Miss you all!
Give me some news when you’ve got time!
C ya
XX
Lorie

NOTA NDLR....pour illustrer une photo de la Melbourne Cup....
sinon voir sur son facebook

SDC12479
      

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
B
It was a truly remarkable post! Thanks for sharing it keep it up
Recit de Voyages
Publicité
Archives
Publicité